Fishing near Norfolk, Virginia
An independent city; the 2020 Census counted 238,005 residents.
- 3 milesto nearest lake page
- 2launches nearby
Pick for largemouth bassPiscifun Chaos Pro CNC baitcasting reel25% OFFSale $97.99 Photo: Doug Lewis, CC BY 2.0
Fishing from Norfolk
238,005 people lived in Norfolk, an independent city, at the 2020 count. Head southeast about 3 miles to reach Lake Whitehurst, the closest lake page. Elizabeth River boat ramp on Southern Branch Elizabeth River is the closest DWR launch, 8 miles out.
Willoughby Bay brings brackish fishing 3 miles from town. Pier fishing waits at Oak Grove Lake Park (west), roughly 12 miles from town.
Census 2020 population and Gazetteer point for Norfolk; miles are straight lines.
Reservoirs a short haul from Norfolk
| Lake | Distance | Area | Kind | DWR launches | Fish DWR names |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lake Whitehurst | 3 miles southeast | 838 acres (DWR outline area) | lake | 0 | |
| Trashmore Lake | 9 miles southeast | 52 acres | lake | 0 | common carp, largemouth bass, white perch |
| Lake Biggins | 13 miles northwest | 60 acres | lake | 0 | bluegill, brown trout, bullhead |
| Sandy Bottom Park Pond | 14 miles northwest | 465 acres | pond | 0 | black crappie, bluegill, common carp |
| Lone Star Lakes | 19 miles west | 50 acres | lake | 1 | blue catfish, bluegill, channel catfish |
| Harwood’s Mill Reservoir | 20 miles northwest | 265 acres | reservoir | 0 | black crappie, bluegill, chain pickerel |
Acres are the NHD outline area of the mapped lake (USGS National Hydrography Dataset), not a DWR figure. Virginia DWR Boating Access Locations layer (attributes as recorded; lanes, fees and hours are not in the layer), read November 6, 2026.
For the largemouth bass herePiscifun AlinoX 300 low profile baitcaster34% OFFSale $104.99 The bay and inlets near Norfolk
- Willoughby Baybay, 3 miles
- Lafayette Rivertidal river, 5 miles
- Elizabeth Rivertidal river, 5 miles
- Southern Branch Elizabeth Rivertidal river, 6 miles
- Eastern Branch Elizabeth Rivertidal river, 6 miles
Saltwater launches near Norfolk
- Elizabeth River boat ramp on Southern Branch Elizabeth RiverSouthern Branch Elizabeth River, dock and ramp, 4 ramps, barrier-free, saltwater, 8 miles
- Peterson Yatch Basin boat ramp on Hampton RoadsHampton Roads, 2 ramps, barrier-free, saltwater, 9 miles
- Fox Hill boat ramp on Back RiverBack River, dock and ramp & separate hand launch, 3 ramps, barrier-free, saltwater, 12 miles
NOAA gauges close to Norfolk
| Station | ID | Miles |
|---|---|---|
| Sewells Point | 8638610 | 5 miles |
| Money Point | 8639348 | 10 miles |
| CBBT, Chesapeake Channel | 8638901 | 12 miles |
USGS GNIS names and points; Virginia DWR Boating Access Locations layer (attributes as recorded; lanes, fees and hours are not in the layer), read November 6, 2026. NOAA CO-OPS Tides & Currents station list, read November 6, 2026.
Moving water close to Norfolk
River stage around Norfolk
| USGS gauge | Latest reading | Time (ET) |
|---|---|---|
| Conveyance Chan At Ramsgate Ln Nr Great Bridge, Va | 0 cfs, 0.10 ft gage height | Nov 7 8:40 am |
| Blackwater River At Route 620 Near Zuni, Va | 17 cfs, 15.15 ft gage height | Nov 7 4:45 pm |
US Geological Survey provisional data, retrieved Nov 7, 2026 5:34 pm ET. Provisional readings can be revised.
DWR waterbody pages, stocked trout reaches and wild trout survey layers, and USGS gauges (live readings); read November 6, 2026.
Ramps and lakes plotted by Norfolk
- Elizabeth River boat ramp on Southern Branch Elizabeth RiverSouthern Branch Elizabeth River, dock and ramp, 4 ramps, barrier-free, saltwater, 8 miles
- Peterson Yatch Basin boat ramp on Hampton RoadsHampton Roads, 2 ramps, barrier-free, saltwater, 9 miles
Walk-on fishing by Norfolk
- Oak Grove Lake Park (west)fishing pier, 12 miles
- Oak Grove Lake Parkfishing pier, 12 miles
- Oak Grove Lake Parkfishing pier, 12 miles
- Oak Grove Lake Park (east)fishing pier, 12 miles
- Oak Grove Lake Parkfishing pier, 12 miles
- James River Fishing Pierfishing pier, 13 miles
Virginia DWR Boating Access Locations layer (attributes as recorded; lanes, fees and hours are not in the layer), read November 6, 2026.
Supplies and captains around Norfolk
Listed bait counters near Norfolk
- C-Tacklebait and tackle shop, Norfolk, 1 mile
- Harrison Marinamarina, Norfolk, 3 miles
- Morningstar Marinas, 8166 Shore Drmarina, Norfolk, 3 miles
- Pelican's Nest Marinamarina, Norfolk, 3 miles
- Cobbs Marinamarina, Norfolk, 3 miles
- Bay Marine & East Beach Marinamarina, Norfolk, 3 miles
- Cutty Sark Marina Incmarina, Norfolk, 3 miles
- Little Creek Marinamarina, Norfolk, 3 miles
Paid trips leaving near Norfolk
- C.R. Ryan Marine Charters LLCcharter, Norfolk, (804) 317-2423
- Fishing Charter FINAO Sportsfishingcharter, Norfolk, (757) 652-8260
- Harrison Charterscharter, Norfolk, (757) 587-9630
- KeyDreams Charter Boat Servicecharter, Norfolk, (757) 406-0943
- Ocean View Fishing Piercharter, Norfolk, (757) 583-6000
- Sally T Fishingcharter, Norfolk, (757) 515-3051
Yellow Pages and chain store listings (miles only for shops with an exact point); guide and charter business listings; read November 6, 2026.
State record catches by Norfolk
| Species | Weight as printed | Water | Year |
|---|---|---|---|
| White Catfish | 7 lbs. 6 oz. | Western Branch Reservoir | 1992 |
| Common Carp | 49 lbs. 4 oz. | Lake Prince | 1986 |
| Gar | 25 lbs. 2 oz. | Lake Prince | 1987 |
State Record Freshwater Fish as of 9-2-2025 (keeper: Virginia DWR (State Record Freshwater Fish list as of 9-2-2025); angler names left off here), read November 6, 2026. Waters within 40 miles.
Statewide rows near Norfolk
A year of Virginia freshwater fishing costs residents $23 and nonresidents $47; anglers under 16 need none. Below the fall line a saltwater license applies, $17.50 for Virginians and $25 for others.
| Species | Where it applies | Creel | Length |
|---|---|---|---|
| Largemouth, Smallmouth Bass | statewide | 5 per day in the aggregate (combined) | No statewide length limits |
| Alabama, Spotted Bass | statewide | No statewide daily limit | No statewide length limit |
| Landlocked Striped Bass and Landlocked Striped Bass X White Bass Hybrids | statewide | 4 per day in the aggregate | No fish less than 20 inches |
| Striped Bass | Anadromous (coastal) striped bass above the fall line in all coastal rivers of the Chesapeake Bay and Crane Lake (City of Suffolk) | Creel and length limits shall be as set by the Virginia Marine Resources Commission for recreational fishing in tidal waters | no length limit printed |
| Striped Bass | Striped bass in the Meherrin, Nottoway, Blackwater (Chowan Drainage), North Landing and Northwest rivers and their tributaries plus Back Bay | No possession | no length limit printed |
| Walleye, Saugeye | statewide | 5 per day in the aggregate | No walleye or saugeye less than 18 inches |
| Sauger | statewide | 2 per day | No statewide length limits |
| White Bass | statewide | 5 per day | No statewide length limits |
| Chain Pickerel and Northern Pike | statewide | 5 per day | No statewide length limits |
| Muskellunge | statewide | 1 per day | No muskellunge less than 40 inches |
| Bluegill (bream) and other sunfish excluding Crappie, Rock Bass (redeye) and Roanoke Bass | statewide | 50 per day in the aggregate (combined) | No statewide length limits |
| Crappie (black or white) | statewide | 25 per day in the aggregate (combined) | No statewide length limits |
| Rock Bass (redeye) | statewide | 25 per day in the aggregate with Roanoke bass | No statewide length limits |
| Roanoke Bass | statewide | 25 per day in the aggregate with rock bass | No statewide length limits |
| Perch (yellow and white) | statewide | No statewide daily limit | No statewide length limit |
| Trout | statewide | 6 per day | 7 inch minimum size |
| Channel, White, and Flathead | statewide | 20 per day | No length limits |
| Blue | statewide | 20 per day | No statewide length limits |
| Hickory Shad | Above and below the fall line in all coastal rivers of the Chesapeake Bay and their tributaries | Creel and length limits shall be the same as those set by the Virginia Marine Resources Comm. in tidal rivers | no length limit printed |
| Hickory Shad | Meherrin River below Emporia Dam, Nottoway River, Blackwater River (Chowan Drainage), North Landing and Northwest rivers, and their tributaries plus Back Bay | 10 per day | No length limits |
| Anadromous (coastal) Alewife and Blueback Herring | Above and below the fall line in all coastal rivers of the Chesapeake Bay and their tributaries | Creel and length limits shall be the same as those set by the Virginia Marine Resources Comm. for these species in tidal rivers | no length limit printed |
| Other native or naturalized nongame fish | statewide | 20 per day | No length limits |
| Threatened and endangered species | statewide | No possession | no length limit printed |
| Grass Carp | statewide | No statewide daily limit | No statewide length limit |
| Longnose Gar | statewide | July 1 to April 14: 5 per day | April 15 to June 30: 1 per day No statewide length limits |
| Bowfin | statewide | July 1 to April 14: 5 per day | April 15 to June 30: 1 per day No statewide length limits |
| Northern Snakehead | statewide | No statewide daily limit | No statewide length limit |
| Spotted Sea Trout | Back Bay and tributaries, including Brinson’s Inlet Lake (Lake Tecumseh), and the North Landing River and its tributaries | 4 per day, no fish less than 14 inches | no length limit printed |
| Red Drum | Back Bay and tributaries, including Brinson’s Inlet Lake (Lake Tecumseh), and the North Landing River and its tributaries | 1 per day between 18 and 27 inches | no length limit printed |
| Grey Trout | Back Bay and tributaries, including Brinson’s Inlet Lake (Lake Tecumseh), and the North Landing River and its tributaries | 1 per day, no fish less than 12 inches | no length limit printed |
Saltwater rows for a Norfolk trip
| Species | Area | Size | Bag | Season | VAC section |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Striped bass | Chesapeake Bay and its tributaries (spring/summer) | 19 in minimum, 24 in maximum | 1 | May 16 through June 15 | 4VAC20-252-80 |
| Striped bass | Chesapeake Bay and its tributaries (fall) | 19 in minimum, 24 in maximum | 1 | October 4 through December 31 | 4VAC20-252-90 |
| Striped bass | Potomac River tributaries | 19 in minimum, 24 in maximum | 1 | May 16 through July 6 and August 21 through December 31 | 4VAC20-252-100 |
| Striped bass | Coastal area | 28 in minimum, 31 in maximum | 1 | January 1 through March 31 and May 16 through December 31 | 4VAC20-252-110 |
| Striped bass | All Virginia waters | not stated | not stated | not stated | 4VAC20-252-50 |
| Speckled trout | Virginia tidal waters | 14 in minimum | 5 | Closed April 1, 2026 through June 30, 2026 | 4VAC20-280-30 |
| Black drum | Virginia tidal waters | 16 in minimum | 1 | not stated | 4VAC20-320-40 |
| Grey trout (weakfish) | Virginia tidal waters | 12 in minimum | 1 | not stated | 4VAC20-380-60 |
| Bluefish | Virginia tidal waters | not stated | 5 | not stated | 4VAC20-450-20 |
| Sharks (recreationally permitted) | Vessel: one per trip per vessel; shore angler: one per calendar day | 54 in minimum | 1 | not stated | 4VAC20-490-40 |
| Cobia | Virginia tidal waters | 43 in minimum | 1 | June 15 through September 20 | 4VAC20-510-20 |
| Amberjack | Virginia tidal waters | 32 in minimum | 2 | not stated | 4VAC20-510-20 |
Statewide creel and length limits as printed (page updated August 17, 2026), 2026 Freshwater Fishing in Virginia digest (eRegulations, linked from the Virginia DWR regulations page), read November 6, 2026. Lake and river pages print any water exception. Virginia Administrative Code, Title 4 Agency 20 (Marine Resources Commission) on law.lis.virginia.gov, as of November 6, 2026 (VMRC rules change by emergency order; check the VMRC regulations page before keeping fish). Virginia license fees in the 2026 Freshwater Fishing in Virginia digest (licenses run one year from purchase unless noted), read November 6, 2026.
Around Norfolk
Nearby towns with a page, from Norfolk
- Portsmouth8 miles
- Hampton9 miles
- Poquoson15 miles
- Carrollton15 miles
- Virginia Beach16 miles
County or city guide for Norfolk
- City of Norfolkindependent city
Reels from Piscifun for the next trip to Norfolk
Piscifun and Amazon links are affiliate links; the site earns a commission on qualifying purchases.
Lakes, tidewater and stream riffles close to Norfolk, in pictures

Photo: Doug Kerr, CC BY-SA 2.0

Photo: Nicolas Henderson, CC BY 2.0

Photo: Watts, CC BY 2.0

Photo: U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Norfolk District, CC BY 2.0
What anglers staying in Norfolk ask
Which lake does a Norfolk angler reach first?
Lake Whitehurst, 3 miles southeast.
How long is the tow from Norfolk to a launch?
Roughly 8 miles out, at Elizabeth River boat ramp on Southern Branch Elizabeth River.
Which DWR pier suits an angler staying in Norfolk?
Oak Grove Lake Park (west) is the pick at 12 miles.
How far does a Norfolk angler drive to buy tackle?
C-Tackle is listed 1 mile from town.
Which locality page lists Norfolk among its towns?
It is its own independent city; the City of Norfolk page covers it.
What license cost faces an angler lodging in Norfolk?
Nonresidents spend $47 on the annual Virginia freshwater license, or $8 for a short-term option DWR lists. The saltwater license covers tidal fishing.
What sizeable Virginia reservoir is drivable from Norfolk?
Lake Whitehurst covers 838 acres (DWR outline area) and lies 3 miles off.
Which other Virginia towns could host a Norfolk trip?
Look at Portsmouth (8 miles), Hampton (9 miles) and Poquoson (15 miles).
Is water close to Norfolk named on the Virginia record list?
White Catfish, 7 lbs. 6 oz., 1992, from Western Branch Reservoir.
Which saltwater access is nearest Norfolk?
Willoughby Bay, 3 miles away.
Try the reservoirs near Norfolk this season
Check a water's digest exceptions before keeping fish.

