Fishing near Hampton, Virginia
An independent city; the 2020 Census counted 137,148 residents.
- 7 milesto nearest lake page
- 2launches nearby
Pick for crappiePiscifun Carbon X ultralight spinning reel28% OFFSale $57.99 Photo: Missy Schmidt, CC BY 2.0
Hampton for anglers, briefly
Hampton is an independent city with 137,148 residents at the 2020 Census. Drive roughly 7 miles west and you reach Sandy Bottom Park Pond, the closest lake page. Top of the nearby list by area: Lake Whitehurst, at 838 acres (DWR outline area). A 3 miles drive puts a trailer at Fox Hill boat ramp on Back River.
Tidal water starts 4 miles away at Back River. Without a boat, head to Sandy Bottom Nature Park on Sandy Bottom Park Pond, some 7 miles off.
Census 2020 population and Gazetteer point for Hampton; miles are straight lines.
Lakes by miles from Hampton
| Lake | Distance | Area | Kind | DWR launches | Fish DWR names |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sandy Bottom Park Pond | 7 miles west | 465 acres | pond | 0 | black crappie, bluegill, common carp |
| Lake Biggins | 9 miles west | 60 acres | lake | 0 | bluegill, brown trout, bullhead |
| Lake Whitehurst | 11 miles southeast | 838 acres (DWR outline area) | lake | 0 | |
| Harwood’s Mill Reservoir | 12 miles northwest | 265 acres | reservoir | 0 | black crappie, bluegill, chain pickerel |
| Trashmore Lake | 18 miles southeast | 52 acres | lake | 0 | common carp, largemouth bass, white perch |
| Lone Star Lakes | 20 miles southwest | 50 acres | lake | 1 | blue catfish, bluegill, channel catfish |
Acres are the NHD outline area of the mapped lake (USGS National Hydrography Dataset), not a DWR figure. Virginia DWR Boating Access Locations layer (attributes as recorded; lanes, fees and hours are not in the layer), read November 6, 2026.
For the crappie herePiscifun Carbon XT ultralight spinning reel25% OFFSale $59.99 Brackish water near Hampton
- Back Rivertidal river, 4 miles
- Hampton Roadsbay, 6 miles
- Willoughby Baybay, 6 miles
- Elizabeth Rivertidal river, 9 miles
- Poquoson Rivertidal river, 10 miles
Brackish-water ramps around Hampton
- Fox Hill boat ramp on Back RiverBack River, dock and ramp & separate hand launch, 3 ramps, barrier-free, saltwater, 3 miles
- Peterson Yatch Basin boat ramp on Hampton RoadsHampton Roads, 2 ramps, barrier-free, saltwater, 7 miles
Water-level stations by Hampton
| Station | ID | Miles |
|---|---|---|
| Sewells Point | 8638610 | 7 miles |
| CBBT, Chesapeake Channel | 8638901 | 12 miles |
| Yorktown USCG Training Center | 8637689 | 16 miles |
USGS GNIS names and points; Virginia DWR Boating Access Locations layer (attributes as recorded; lanes, fees and hours are not in the layer), read November 6, 2026. NOAA CO-OPS Tides & Currents station list, read November 6, 2026.
Streams within reach of Hampton
Live streamflow by Hampton
| USGS gauge | Latest reading | Time (ET) |
|---|---|---|
| Conveyance Chan At Ramsgate Ln Nr Great Bridge, Va | 0 cfs, 0.10 ft gage height | Nov 7 8:40 am |
| Blackwater River At Route 620 Near Zuni, Va | 17 cfs, 15.15 ft gage height | Nov 7 4:45 pm |
US Geological Survey provisional data, retrieved Nov 7, 2026 5:34 pm ET. Provisional readings can be revised.
DWR waterbody pages, stocked trout reaches and wild trout survey layers, and USGS gauges (live readings); read November 6, 2026.
Where to launch near Hampton, on a map
- Fox Hill boat ramp on Back RiverBack River, dock and ramp & separate hand launch, 3 ramps, barrier-free, saltwater, 3 miles
- Peterson Yatch Basin boat ramp on Hampton RoadsHampton Roads, 2 ramps, barrier-free, saltwater, 7 miles
Pier rails reachable from Hampton
- Sandy Bottom Nature Park on Sandy Bottom Park Pondfishing pier, 7 miles
- James River Fishing Pierfishing pier, 9 miles
- Hilton Pier on Tidal James Riverfishing pier, 9 miles
Virginia DWR Boating Access Locations layer (attributes as recorded; lanes, fees and hours are not in the layer), read November 6, 2026.
Stocking the cooler near Hampton
The closest tackle listings to Hampton
- Salt Ponds Marina Resortmarina, Hampton, under a mile
- Southall Landings Marinamarina, Hampton, under a mile
- Sandman Hook & Tacklebait and tackle shop, Hampton, 3 miles
- Joy's Marina Incmarina, Hampton, 3 miles
- Customs House Marinamarina, Hampton, 3 miles
- I Cooper's Marine Suppliesbait and tackle shop, Hampton, 3 miles
- Marina Cove Boat Basinmarina, Hampton, 3 miles
- Dandy Haven Marinamarina, Hampton, 3 miles
Guide listings within reach of Hampton
- Captain Hogg's Charterscharter, Hampton, (757) 876-1590
- Four Winds Charteringcharter, Hampton, (757) 713-2275
- Hampton Roads Charterscharter, Hampton, (757) 868-3474
- Seaduction Fishingcharter, Hampton, (757) 329-5137
Yellow Pages and chain store listings (miles only for shops with an exact point); guide and charter business listings; read November 6, 2026.
Heavy Virginia catches near Hampton
| Species | Weight as printed | Water | Year |
|---|---|---|---|
| White Catfish | 7 lbs. 6 oz. | Western Branch Reservoir | 1992 |
| Common Carp | 49 lbs. 4 oz. | Lake Prince | 1986 |
| Gar | 25 lbs. 2 oz. | Lake Prince | 1987 |
| Bowfin | 10 lbs. 12 oz. | Chickahominy River | 2016 |
State Record Freshwater Fish as of 9-2-2025 (keeper: Virginia DWR (State Record Freshwater Fish list as of 9-2-2025); angler names left off here), read November 6, 2026. Waters within 40 miles.
Fish a Hampton angler can keep
DWR sells the annual freshwater license for $23 to residents and $47 to anglers who live elsewhere. Fishing the salt side means a $17.50 resident or $25 nonresident saltwater license.
| Species | Where it applies | Creel | Length |
|---|---|---|---|
| Largemouth, Smallmouth Bass | statewide | 5 per day in the aggregate (combined) | No statewide length limits |
| Alabama, Spotted Bass | statewide | No statewide daily limit | No statewide length limit |
| Landlocked Striped Bass and Landlocked Striped Bass X White Bass Hybrids | statewide | 4 per day in the aggregate | No fish less than 20 inches |
| Striped Bass | Anadromous (coastal) striped bass above the fall line in all coastal rivers of the Chesapeake Bay and Crane Lake (City of Suffolk) | Creel and length limits shall be as set by the Virginia Marine Resources Commission for recreational fishing in tidal waters | no length limit printed |
| Striped Bass | Striped bass in the Meherrin, Nottoway, Blackwater (Chowan Drainage), North Landing and Northwest rivers and their tributaries plus Back Bay | No possession | no length limit printed |
| Walleye, Saugeye | statewide | 5 per day in the aggregate | No walleye or saugeye less than 18 inches |
| Sauger | statewide | 2 per day | No statewide length limits |
| White Bass | statewide | 5 per day | No statewide length limits |
| Chain Pickerel and Northern Pike | statewide | 5 per day | No statewide length limits |
| Muskellunge | statewide | 1 per day | No muskellunge less than 40 inches |
| Bluegill (bream) and other sunfish excluding Crappie, Rock Bass (redeye) and Roanoke Bass | statewide | 50 per day in the aggregate (combined) | No statewide length limits |
| Crappie (black or white) | statewide | 25 per day in the aggregate (combined) | No statewide length limits |
| Rock Bass (redeye) | statewide | 25 per day in the aggregate with Roanoke bass | No statewide length limits |
| Roanoke Bass | statewide | 25 per day in the aggregate with rock bass | No statewide length limits |
| Perch (yellow and white) | statewide | No statewide daily limit | No statewide length limit |
| Trout | statewide | 6 per day | 7 inch minimum size |
| Channel, White, and Flathead | statewide | 20 per day | No length limits |
| Blue | statewide | 20 per day | No statewide length limits |
| Hickory Shad | Above and below the fall line in all coastal rivers of the Chesapeake Bay and their tributaries | Creel and length limits shall be the same as those set by the Virginia Marine Resources Comm. in tidal rivers | no length limit printed |
| Hickory Shad | Meherrin River below Emporia Dam, Nottoway River, Blackwater River (Chowan Drainage), North Landing and Northwest rivers, and their tributaries plus Back Bay | 10 per day | No length limits |
| Anadromous (coastal) Alewife and Blueback Herring | Above and below the fall line in all coastal rivers of the Chesapeake Bay and their tributaries | Creel and length limits shall be the same as those set by the Virginia Marine Resources Comm. for these species in tidal rivers | no length limit printed |
| Other native or naturalized nongame fish | statewide | 20 per day | No length limits |
| Threatened and endangered species | statewide | No possession | no length limit printed |
| Grass Carp | statewide | No statewide daily limit | No statewide length limit |
| Longnose Gar | statewide | July 1 to April 14: 5 per day | April 15 to June 30: 1 per day No statewide length limits |
| Bowfin | statewide | July 1 to April 14: 5 per day | April 15 to June 30: 1 per day No statewide length limits |
| Northern Snakehead | statewide | No statewide daily limit | No statewide length limit |
| Spotted Sea Trout | Back Bay and tributaries, including Brinson’s Inlet Lake (Lake Tecumseh), and the North Landing River and its tributaries | 4 per day, no fish less than 14 inches | no length limit printed |
| Red Drum | Back Bay and tributaries, including Brinson’s Inlet Lake (Lake Tecumseh), and the North Landing River and its tributaries | 1 per day between 18 and 27 inches | no length limit printed |
| Grey Trout | Back Bay and tributaries, including Brinson’s Inlet Lake (Lake Tecumseh), and the North Landing River and its tributaries | 1 per day, no fish less than 12 inches | no length limit printed |
Marine creel and size rows by Hampton
| Species | Area | Size | Bag | Season | VAC section |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Striped bass | Chesapeake Bay and its tributaries (spring/summer) | 19 in minimum, 24 in maximum | 1 | May 16 through June 15 | 4VAC20-252-80 |
| Striped bass | Chesapeake Bay and its tributaries (fall) | 19 in minimum, 24 in maximum | 1 | October 4 through December 31 | 4VAC20-252-90 |
| Striped bass | Potomac River tributaries | 19 in minimum, 24 in maximum | 1 | May 16 through July 6 and August 21 through December 31 | 4VAC20-252-100 |
| Striped bass | Coastal area | 28 in minimum, 31 in maximum | 1 | January 1 through March 31 and May 16 through December 31 | 4VAC20-252-110 |
| Striped bass | All Virginia waters | not stated | not stated | not stated | 4VAC20-252-50 |
| Speckled trout | Virginia tidal waters | 14 in minimum | 5 | Closed April 1, 2026 through June 30, 2026 | 4VAC20-280-30 |
| Black drum | Virginia tidal waters | 16 in minimum | 1 | not stated | 4VAC20-320-40 |
| Grey trout (weakfish) | Virginia tidal waters | 12 in minimum | 1 | not stated | 4VAC20-380-60 |
| Bluefish | Virginia tidal waters | not stated | 5 | not stated | 4VAC20-450-20 |
| Sharks (recreationally permitted) | Vessel: one per trip per vessel; shore angler: one per calendar day | 54 in minimum | 1 | not stated | 4VAC20-490-40 |
| Cobia | Virginia tidal waters | 43 in minimum | 1 | June 15 through September 20 | 4VAC20-510-20 |
| Amberjack | Virginia tidal waters | 32 in minimum | 2 | not stated | 4VAC20-510-20 |
Statewide creel and length limits as printed (page updated August 17, 2026), 2026 Freshwater Fishing in Virginia digest (eRegulations, linked from the Virginia DWR regulations page), read November 6, 2026. Lake and river pages print any water exception. Virginia Administrative Code, Title 4 Agency 20 (Marine Resources Commission) on law.lis.virginia.gov, as of November 6, 2026 (VMRC rules change by emergency order; check the VMRC regulations page before keeping fish). Virginia license fees in the 2026 Freshwater Fishing in Virginia digest (licenses run one year from purchase unless noted), read November 6, 2026.
Past the edges of Hampton
Other Virginia bases by Hampton
- Poquoson6 miles
- Bethel Manor8 miles
- Norfolk9 miles
- Newport News13 miles
- Portsmouth13 miles
Where Hampton sits on the locality list
- City of Hamptonindependent city
Piscifun spinning gear for a day out on Hampton
Piscifun and Amazon links are affiliate links; the site earns a commission on qualifying purchases.
Shorelines around Hampton through a camera

Photo: Doug Kerr, CC BY-SA 2.0

Photo: Doug Kerr, CC BY-SA 2.0

Photo: Doug Lewis, CC BY 2.0

Photo: Watts, CC BY 2.0
Common questions for a Hampton trip
What is the closest Virginia lake page to Hampton?
Sandy Bottom Park Pond, 7 miles west.
Which recorded launch is the quickest run from Hampton?
About 3 miles to Fox Hill boat ramp on Back River.
Where can Hampton anglers fish with no boat?
Sandy Bottom Nature Park on Sandy Bottom Park Pond is nearest, 7 miles away.
What listed tackle store sits nearest Hampton?
Salt Ponds Marina Resort is listed under a mile from town.
Which locality page covers Hampton?
It stands alone as City of Hampton.
How much does a nonresident spend on a license to fish by Hampton?
The DWR nonresident freshwater license costs $47 for the year, or $8 for a short-term option DWR lists. Bay trips add a saltwater license.
Which impoundment close to Hampton spreads widest?
Lake Whitehurst covers 838 acres (DWR outline area) and lies 11 miles off.
What other Virginia towns lie a short drive from Hampton?
Nearby towns are Poquoson (6 miles), Bethel Manor (8 miles) and Norfolk (9 miles).
Has a Virginia record been landed in water by Hampton?
White Catfish, 7 lbs. 6 oz., 1992, from Western Branch Reservoir.
How far is tidal water from Hampton?
Back River, 4 miles away.
Pick your water near Hampton
Lake pages list launches, DWR notes and exceptions.

