Fishing near Chesapeake, Virginia
An independent city; the 2020 Census counted 249,422 residents.
- 10 milesto nearest lake page
- 1launch nearby
Pick for channel catfishPiscifun LumiCat II catfish rod48% OFFSale $114.99 Photo: U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Norfolk District, CC BY 2.0
Chesapeake for anglers, briefly
Chesapeake is an independent city with 249,422 residents at the 2020 Census. Drive roughly 10 miles southeast and you reach Northwest River Park Lake, the closest lake page. Top of the nearby list by area: Lake Drummond, at 3,142 acres. A 9 miles drive puts a trailer at Elizabeth River boat ramp on Southern Branch Elizabeth River.
Tidal water starts 11 miles away at Southern Branch Elizabeth River. Without a boat, head to Oak Grove Lake Park, some 6 miles off.
Census 2020 population and Gazetteer point for Chesapeake; miles are straight lines.
Lakes by miles from Chesapeake
| Lake | Distance | Area | Kind | DWR launches | Fish DWR names |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Northwest River Park Lake | 10 miles southeast | 0 acres (DWR outline area) | lake | 0 | bluegill, channel catfish, crappie |
| Lake Drummond | 11 miles southwest | 3,142 acres | lake | 0 | bowfin, bullhead, chain pickerel |
| Trashmore Lake | 14 miles northeast | 52 acres | lake | 0 | common carp, largemouth bass, white perch |
| Lake Whitehurst | 17 miles north | 838 acres (DWR outline area) | lake | 0 | |
| Lake Meade | 17 miles west | 512 acres | lake | 0 | bluegill, crappie, largemouth bass |
| Lake Kilby | 17 miles west | 222 acres | lake | 0 | black crappie, bluegill, chain pickerel |
Acres are the NHD outline area of the mapped lake (USGS National Hydrography Dataset), not a DWR figure. Virginia DWR Boating Access Locations layer (attributes as recorded; lanes, fees and hours are not in the layer), read November 6, 2026.
For the channel catfish herePiscifun Chaos XS round baitcaster36% OFFSale $57.99 Brackish water near Chesapeake
- Southern Branch Elizabeth Rivertidal river, 11 miles
- Eastern Branch Elizabeth Rivertidal river, 11 miles
- Western Branch Elizabeth Rivertidal river, 13 miles
- Lafayette Rivertidal river, 15 miles
Brackish-water ramps around Chesapeake
- Elizabeth River boat ramp on Southern Branch Elizabeth RiverSouthern Branch Elizabeth River, dock and ramp, 4 ramps, barrier-free, saltwater, 9 miles
Water-level stations by Chesapeake
| Station | ID | Miles |
|---|---|---|
| Money Point | 8639348 | 7 miles |
| Sewells Point | 8638610 | 18 miles |
USGS GNIS names and points; Virginia DWR Boating Access Locations layer (attributes as recorded; lanes, fees and hours are not in the layer), read November 6, 2026. NOAA CO-OPS Tides & Currents station list, read November 6, 2026.
Streams within reach of Chesapeake
Live streamflow by Chesapeake
| USGS gauge | Latest reading | Time (ET) |
|---|---|---|
| Conveyance Chan At Ramsgate Ln Nr Great Bridge, Va | 0 cfs, 0.10 ft gage height | Nov 7 8:40 am |
US Geological Survey provisional data, retrieved Nov 7, 2026 5:34 pm ET. Provisional readings can be revised.
DWR waterbody pages, stocked trout reaches and wild trout survey layers, and USGS gauges (live readings); read November 6, 2026.
Where to launch near Chesapeake, on a map
- Elizabeth River boat ramp on Southern Branch Elizabeth RiverSouthern Branch Elizabeth River, dock and ramp, 4 ramps, barrier-free, saltwater, 9 miles
Pier rails reachable from Chesapeake
- Oak Grove Lake Parkfishing pier, 6 miles
- Oak Grove Lake Park (east)fishing pier, 6 miles
- Oak Grove Lake Parkfishing pier, 6 miles
- Oak Grove Lake Park (west)fishing pier, 6 miles
- Oak Grove Lake Parkfishing pier, 6 miles
Virginia DWR Boating Access Locations layer (attributes as recorded; lanes, fees and hours are not in the layer), read November 6, 2026.
Stocking the cooler near Chesapeake
The closest tackle listings to Chesapeake
- Gail's Bait & Tacklebait and tackle shop, Chesapeake, 4 miles
- Chesapeake Bait & Tacklebait and tackle shop, Chesapeake, 4 miles
- Top Rack Marina, 5532 Bainbridge Blvdmarina, Chesapeake, 4 miles
- Top Rack Marina, 749 Green Tree Cirmarina, Chesapeake, 6 miles
- Bob's Fishing Holebait and tackle shop, Chesapeake, 9 miles
- Gregs Bait Shackbait and tackle shop, Portsmouth, 10 miles
- Ocean Yacht Marinamarina, Portsmouth, 11 miles
- Tidewater Yacht Marinamarina, Portsmouth, 11 miles
Yellow Pages and chain store listings (miles only for shops with an exact point); guide and charter business listings; read November 6, 2026.
Heavy Virginia catches near Chesapeake
| Species | Weight as printed | Water | Year |
|---|---|---|---|
| White Catfish | 7 lbs. 6 oz. | Western Branch Reservoir | 1992 |
| Common Carp | 49 lbs. 4 oz. | Lake Prince | 1986 |
| Gar | 25 lbs. 2 oz. | Lake Prince | 1987 |
State Record Freshwater Fish as of 9-2-2025 (keeper: Virginia DWR (State Record Freshwater Fish list as of 9-2-2025); angler names left off here), read November 6, 2026. Waters within 40 miles.
Fish a Chesapeake angler can keep
DWR sells the annual freshwater license for $23 to residents and $47 to anglers who live elsewhere. Fishing the salt side means a $17.50 resident or $25 nonresident saltwater license.
| Species | Where it applies | Creel | Length |
|---|---|---|---|
| Largemouth, Smallmouth Bass | statewide | 5 per day in the aggregate (combined) | No statewide length limits |
| Alabama, Spotted Bass | statewide | No statewide daily limit | No statewide length limit |
| Landlocked Striped Bass and Landlocked Striped Bass X White Bass Hybrids | statewide | 4 per day in the aggregate | No fish less than 20 inches |
| Striped Bass | Anadromous (coastal) striped bass above the fall line in all coastal rivers of the Chesapeake Bay and Crane Lake (City of Suffolk) | Creel and length limits shall be as set by the Virginia Marine Resources Commission for recreational fishing in tidal waters | no length limit printed |
| Striped Bass | Striped bass in the Meherrin, Nottoway, Blackwater (Chowan Drainage), North Landing and Northwest rivers and their tributaries plus Back Bay | No possession | no length limit printed |
| Walleye, Saugeye | statewide | 5 per day in the aggregate | No walleye or saugeye less than 18 inches |
| Sauger | statewide | 2 per day | No statewide length limits |
| White Bass | statewide | 5 per day | No statewide length limits |
| Chain Pickerel and Northern Pike | statewide | 5 per day | No statewide length limits |
| Muskellunge | statewide | 1 per day | No muskellunge less than 40 inches |
| Bluegill (bream) and other sunfish excluding Crappie, Rock Bass (redeye) and Roanoke Bass | statewide | 50 per day in the aggregate (combined) | No statewide length limits |
| Crappie (black or white) | statewide | 25 per day in the aggregate (combined) | No statewide length limits |
| Rock Bass (redeye) | statewide | 25 per day in the aggregate with Roanoke bass | No statewide length limits |
| Roanoke Bass | statewide | 25 per day in the aggregate with rock bass | No statewide length limits |
| Perch (yellow and white) | statewide | No statewide daily limit | No statewide length limit |
| Trout | statewide | 6 per day | 7 inch minimum size |
| Channel, White, and Flathead | statewide | 20 per day | No length limits |
| Blue | statewide | 20 per day | No statewide length limits |
| Hickory Shad | Above and below the fall line in all coastal rivers of the Chesapeake Bay and their tributaries | Creel and length limits shall be the same as those set by the Virginia Marine Resources Comm. in tidal rivers | no length limit printed |
| Hickory Shad | Meherrin River below Emporia Dam, Nottoway River, Blackwater River (Chowan Drainage), North Landing and Northwest rivers, and their tributaries plus Back Bay | 10 per day | No length limits |
| Anadromous (coastal) Alewife and Blueback Herring | Above and below the fall line in all coastal rivers of the Chesapeake Bay and their tributaries | Creel and length limits shall be the same as those set by the Virginia Marine Resources Comm. for these species in tidal rivers | no length limit printed |
| Other native or naturalized nongame fish | statewide | 20 per day | No length limits |
| Threatened and endangered species | statewide | No possession | no length limit printed |
| Grass Carp | statewide | No statewide daily limit | No statewide length limit |
| Longnose Gar | statewide | July 1 to April 14: 5 per day | April 15 to June 30: 1 per day No statewide length limits |
| Bowfin | statewide | July 1 to April 14: 5 per day | April 15 to June 30: 1 per day No statewide length limits |
| Northern Snakehead | statewide | No statewide daily limit | No statewide length limit |
| Spotted Sea Trout | Back Bay and tributaries, including Brinson’s Inlet Lake (Lake Tecumseh), and the North Landing River and its tributaries | 4 per day, no fish less than 14 inches | no length limit printed |
| Red Drum | Back Bay and tributaries, including Brinson’s Inlet Lake (Lake Tecumseh), and the North Landing River and its tributaries | 1 per day between 18 and 27 inches | no length limit printed |
| Grey Trout | Back Bay and tributaries, including Brinson’s Inlet Lake (Lake Tecumseh), and the North Landing River and its tributaries | 1 per day, no fish less than 12 inches | no length limit printed |
Marine creel and size rows by Chesapeake
| Species | Area | Size | Bag | Season | VAC section |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Striped bass | Chesapeake Bay and its tributaries (spring/summer) | 19 in minimum, 24 in maximum | 1 | May 16 through June 15 | 4VAC20-252-80 |
| Striped bass | Chesapeake Bay and its tributaries (fall) | 19 in minimum, 24 in maximum | 1 | October 4 through December 31 | 4VAC20-252-90 |
| Striped bass | Potomac River tributaries | 19 in minimum, 24 in maximum | 1 | May 16 through July 6 and August 21 through December 31 | 4VAC20-252-100 |
| Striped bass | Coastal area | 28 in minimum, 31 in maximum | 1 | January 1 through March 31 and May 16 through December 31 | 4VAC20-252-110 |
| Striped bass | All Virginia waters | not stated | not stated | not stated | 4VAC20-252-50 |
| Speckled trout | Virginia tidal waters | 14 in minimum | 5 | Closed April 1, 2026 through June 30, 2026 | 4VAC20-280-30 |
| Black drum | Virginia tidal waters | 16 in minimum | 1 | not stated | 4VAC20-320-40 |
| Grey trout (weakfish) | Virginia tidal waters | 12 in minimum | 1 | not stated | 4VAC20-380-60 |
| Bluefish | Virginia tidal waters | not stated | 5 | not stated | 4VAC20-450-20 |
| Sharks (recreationally permitted) | Vessel: one per trip per vessel; shore angler: one per calendar day | 54 in minimum | 1 | not stated | 4VAC20-490-40 |
| Cobia | Virginia tidal waters | 43 in minimum | 1 | June 15 through September 20 | 4VAC20-510-20 |
| Amberjack | Virginia tidal waters | 32 in minimum | 2 | not stated | 4VAC20-510-20 |
Statewide creel and length limits as printed (page updated August 17, 2026), 2026 Freshwater Fishing in Virginia digest (eRegulations, linked from the Virginia DWR regulations page), read November 6, 2026. Lake and river pages print any water exception. Virginia Administrative Code, Title 4 Agency 20 (Marine Resources Commission) on law.lis.virginia.gov, as of November 6, 2026 (VMRC rules change by emergency order; check the VMRC regulations page before keeping fish). Virginia license fees in the 2026 Freshwater Fishing in Virginia digest (licenses run one year from purchase unless noted), read November 6, 2026.
Past the edges of Chesapeake
Other Virginia bases by Chesapeake
- Portsmouth13 miles
- Virginia Beach17 miles
- Norfolk17 miles
- Suffolk18 miles
- Carrollton22 miles
Where Chesapeake sits on the locality list
- City of Chesapeakeindependent city
Piscifun spinning gear for a day out on Chesapeake
Piscifun and Amazon links are affiliate links; the site earns a commission on qualifying purchases.
Shorelines around Chesapeake through a camera

Photo: David Wilson, CC BY 2.0

Photo: Doug Kerr, CC BY-SA 2.0

Photo: Nicolas Henderson, CC BY 2.0

Photo: Watts, CC BY 2.0
Common questions for a Chesapeake trip
What is the closest Virginia lake page to Chesapeake?
Northwest River Park Lake, 10 miles southeast.
Which recorded launch is the quickest run from Chesapeake?
About 9 miles to Elizabeth River boat ramp on Southern Branch Elizabeth River.
Where can Chesapeake anglers fish with no boat?
Oak Grove Lake Park is nearest, 6 miles away.
What listed tackle store sits nearest Chesapeake?
Gail's Bait & Tackle is listed 4 miles from town.
Which locality page covers Chesapeake?
It stands alone as City of Chesapeake.
How much does a nonresident spend on a license to fish by Chesapeake?
The DWR nonresident freshwater license costs $47 for the year, or $8 for a short-term option DWR lists. Bay trips add a saltwater license.
Which impoundment close to Chesapeake spreads widest?
Lake Drummond covers 3,142 acres and lies 11 miles off.
What other Virginia towns lie a short drive from Chesapeake?
Nearby towns are Portsmouth (13 miles), Virginia Beach (17 miles) and Norfolk (17 miles).
Has a Virginia record been landed in water by Chesapeake?
White Catfish, 7 lbs. 6 oz., 1992, from Western Branch Reservoir.
How far is tidal water from Chesapeake?
Southern Branch Elizabeth River, 11 miles away.
Pick your water near Chesapeake
Lake pages list launches, DWR notes and exceptions.

