Warwick River Fishing
Coastal tidal river fishing in City of Newport News.
Pick for red drumPiscifun Alloy S inshore spinning reelCheck price at PiscifunPhoto of Hampton Roads: Doug Kerr, CC BY-SA 2.0
The essentials of Warwick River
Warwick River, a tidal river of City of Newport News, lies on the Chesapeake Bay side. Count on about 1 mile to Newport News.
Boaters reach it from 2 saltwater launches on the DWR list. The VMRC angler guide charts 7 artificial reefs within 25 miles. There are 3 water-level stations close by. Marine limits and the saltwater license apply here.
USGS GNIS named feature 1479823; Virginia DWR Boating Access Locations; NOAA CO-OPS; read November 6, 2026.
Saltwater ramps close to Warwick River
| Site | Recorded attributes | Owner | Location (DWR) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Jones Creek boat ramp | dock and ramp, 2 ramps, barrier-free, saltwater | Isle of Wight County | From Rt 17, West on 669 (.5), West on Rt 665 (1.5) , turn left into Jones Creek Landing |
| Lawnes Creek boat ramp on Tidal James River | dock and ramp, 1 ramp, barrier-free, fresh and salt | DWR | From Bacons Castle, Rt 650 North (5.2) |
Virginia DWR Boating Access Locations layer (attributes as recorded; lanes, fees and hours are not in the layer), read November 6, 2026.
VMRC size and possession limits for Warwick River
| Species | Area | Size | Bag | Season | VAC section |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Atlantic croaker | Virginia tidal waters | not stated | 50 | not stated | 4VAC20-1370-30 |
| Black sea bass | Virginia tidal waters | 13 in minimum | 15 | 2026: May 11 through December 31; 2027: April 1 through December 31 | 4VAC20-950-45 |
| Red drum | Virginia tidal waters | 18 in minimum, 26 in maximum | 3 | not stated | 4VAC20-1400-30 |
| Sheepshead | Within or outside Virginia tidal waters | not stated | 4 | not stated | 4VAC20-1110-30 |
| Spadefish | Virginia tidal waters | not stated | 4 | not stated | 4VAC20-970-30 |
| Spot | Virginia tidal waters | not stated | 50 | not stated | 4VAC20-1380-30 |
| Summer flounder | Potomac River tributaries | not stated | not stated | not stated | 4VAC20-620-60 |
| Tautog | Virginia tidal waters | 16 in minimum | 4 | Closed May 16 through June 30 | 4VAC20-960-45 |
For Warwick River, these are the code limits as read on November 6, 2026.
Virginia Administrative Code, Title 4 Agency 20 (Marine Resources Commission) on law.lis.virginia.gov, as of November 6, 2026 (VMRC rules change by emergency order; check the VMRC regulations page before keeping fish).
A Virginia saltwater license is $17.50 for residents and $25 for nonresidents 16 and older.
Virginia license fees in the 2026 Freshwater Fishing in Virginia digest (licenses run one year from purchase unless noted), read November 6, 2026. Virginia Marine Resources Commission license fees, read November 6, 2026.
For the red drum herePiscifun NautiX saltwater spinning reel14% OFFSale $94.99 Where to check the tide at Warwick River
| NOAA water-level station | ID | Distance |
|---|---|---|
| Yorktown USCG Training Center | 8637689 | 11 miles |
| Sewells Point | 8638610 | 15 miles |
| Money Point | 8639348 | 25 miles |
Where NOAA predicts the tide near Warwick River
| Prediction station | Distance |
|---|---|
| Menchville | 1 mile |
| Fort Eustis (MARAD) | 6 miles |
| Huntington Park | 7 miles |
| Burwell Bay | 7 miles |
| Smithfield, Pagan River | 8 miles |
| Newport News | 10 miles |
Open a station to see today near Warwick River.
NOAA CO-OPS Tides & Currents station list, read November 6, 2026.
Fish-holding reefs close to Warwick River
| Reef | Area | Distance | Clearance (ft, MLW) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Middle Ground Artificial Reef | Chesapeake Bay | 13 miles | 12 |
| Poquoson Artificial Reef | Chesapeake Bay | 15 miles | 12 |
| Back River Artificial Reef | Chesapeake Bay | 18 miles | 15 |
| Mobjack Bay Artificial Reef | Chesapeake Bay | 19 miles | 15 |
| Bluefish Rock Artificial Reef | Chesapeake Bay | 20 miles | 15 |
| York Spit Artificial Reef | Chesapeake Bay | 20 miles | |
| East Oceanview Artificial Reef | Chesapeake Bay | 21 miles |
Reef positions near Warwick River are approximate chart-grid centres.
Virginia Marine Resources Commission saltwater angler guide reef charts, read November 7, 2026.
Guide-listed landings on Warwick River
- Deep Creek City Pier (Warwick River)VMRC angler guide listing
- Denbigh Park Ramp(Warwick River)VMRC angler guide listing
Harbors and wharves by Warwick River
- HamptonHampton (city), 12 miles
- Gloucester PointGloucester County, 12 miles
- PoquosonPoquoson (city), 11 miles
- YorktownYork County, 11 miles
Virginia Marine Resources Commission saltwater angler guide (c. 2008, names only); USGS GNIS populated places.
Close to Warwick River on the Commonwealth map
Virginia saltwater next door to Warwick River
- Pagan Rivertidal river, 5 miles
- Poquoson Rivertidal river, 11 miles
- Nansemond Rivertidal river, 13 miles
- Hampton Roadsbay, 13 miles
- Back Rivertidal river, 14 miles
Out past Warwick River
- Chesapeake BayVirginia side
Non-tidal water close to Warwick River
- Tidal James River8 miles
- Chickahominy River22 miles
- Blackwater River26 miles
- Harwood’s Mill Reservoir6 miles
- Sandy Bottom Park Pond6 miles
- Lake Biggins7 miles
Stores with hooks, line and lures around Warwick River
- Mobjack Bay Marinamarina, Newport News, 1 mile
- Deep Creek Landing Marinabait and tackle shop, Newport News, 1 mile
- James River Marinamarina, Newport News, 1 mile
- Wilcox Bait & Tacklebait and tackle shop, Newport News, 4 miles
- Bishops Fishing Supplybait and tackle shop, Yorktown, 5 miles
- Brown's Marinamarina, Carrollton, 6 miles
Booking a skipper or guide for Warwick River
- Bay Charter Servicecharter, Newport News, (757) 591-9009
A bed and a breakfast counter near Warwick River
- Newport News1 mile, City of Newport News
- Bethel Manor7 miles, York County
- Smithfield9 miles, Isle of Wight County
- Carrollton10 miles, Isle of Wight County
Locality pages that take in Warwick River
- City of Newport Newsindependent city
Piscifun tackle that suits Warwick River
Piscifun and Amazon links are affiliate links; the site earns a commission on qualifying purchases.
How the banks by Warwick River look on a clear day

Photo: U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Northeast Region, Public domain

Photo: Watts, CC BY 2.0

Photo: Doug Kerr, CC BY-SA 2.0

Photo: Watts, CC BY 2.0
Questions on Warwick River before the truck is loaded
Which Virginia locality holds Warwick River?
GNIS places it in City of Newport News, on the Chesapeake Bay side, about 1 mile from Newport News.
Which DWR saltwater ramp gets a boat to Warwick River?
DWR records 2 saltwater launches, among them Jones Creek boat ramp.
What does DWR charge to fish Warwick River?
A Virginia saltwater license is $17.50 for residents and $25 for nonresidents 16 and older. Kids under 16 are exempt.
Which red drum rule applies on Warwick River?
Red drum: 3 a day, 18-inch minimum, 26-inch maximum (4VAC20-1400-30), as of November 6, 2026.
What size speckled trout may go home from Warwick River?
Speckled trout: 5 a day, 14-inch minimum (4VAC20-280-30); the code closes the season April 1 through June 30, 2026, as of November 6, 2026.
What size flounder may go home from Warwick River?
Summer flounder: 4 a day, 16-inch minimum (4VAC20-620-50); the minimum rises June 1 per the code section, as of November 6, 2026.
Which NOAA gauge sits closest to Warwick River?
Menchville, about 1 mile away, is closest.
Which Virginia bait counter sits closest to Warwick River?
Nearest in our list: Mobjack Bay Marina (about 1 mile away).
Can I reach a reef from Warwick River?
Middle Ground Artificial Reef is the closest VMRC guide reef, about 13 miles away (chart-grid midpoint, not a structure position).
Spend a falling tide on Warwick River
Know the slot and season before the first cast.

