Assateague Channel Fishing
Coastal inlet fishing in Accomack County.
Pick for troutPiscifun Carbon X ultralight spinning reel28% OFFSale $57.99 Photo, nearby stand in for Assateague Channel: U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Northeast Region, Public domain
The essentials of Assateague Channel
Assateague Channel, a inlet of Accomack County, lies on the Atlantic side. Count on about 2 miles to Chincoteague.
Boaters reach it from 1 saltwater launch on the DWR list. The VMRC angler guide charts 1 artificial reef within 25 miles. Marine limits and the saltwater license apply here.
USGS GNIS named feature 1462602; Virginia DWR Boating Access Locations; NOAA CO-OPS; read November 6, 2026.
Saltwater ramps close to Assateague Channel
| Site | Recorded attributes | Owner | Location (DWR) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Queens Sound boat ramp on Chincoteague Inlet | dock and ramp, 1 ramp, saltwater | DWR | On Rt 175 to Chincoteague from Wallop Station, * Very limited parking |
Virginia DWR Boating Access Locations layer (attributes as recorded; lanes, fees and hours are not in the layer), read November 6, 2026.
VMRC size and possession limits for Assateague Channel
| Species | Area | Size | Bag | Season | VAC section |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Black sea bass | Virginia tidal waters | 13 in minimum | 15 | 2026: May 11 through December 31; 2027: April 1 through December 31 | 4VAC20-950-45 |
| Bluefish | Virginia tidal waters | not stated | 5 | not stated | 4VAC20-450-20 |
| Cobia | Virginia tidal waters | 43 in minimum | 1 | June 15 through September 20 | 4VAC20-510-20 |
| Grey trout (weakfish) | Virginia tidal waters | 12 in minimum | 1 | not stated | 4VAC20-380-60 |
| Sheepshead | Within or outside Virginia tidal waters | not stated | 4 | not stated | 4VAC20-1110-30 |
| Spadefish | Virginia tidal waters | not stated | 4 | not stated | 4VAC20-970-30 |
| Spanish mackerel | Virginia tidal waters | 14 in minimum | 15 | not stated | 4VAC20-540-30 |
| Tautog | Virginia tidal waters | 16 in minimum | 4 | Closed May 16 through June 30 | 4VAC20-960-45 |
For Assateague Channel, these are the code limits as read on November 6, 2026.
Virginia Administrative Code, Title 4 Agency 20 (Marine Resources Commission) on law.lis.virginia.gov, as of November 6, 2026 (VMRC rules change by emergency order; check the VMRC regulations page before keeping fish).
A Virginia saltwater license is $17.50 for residents and $25 for nonresidents 16 and older.
Virginia license fees in the 2026 Freshwater Fishing in Virginia digest (licenses run one year from purchase unless noted), read November 6, 2026. Virginia Marine Resources Commission license fees, read November 6, 2026.
For the trout herePiscifun Carbon XT ultralight spinning reel25% OFFSale $59.99 Where to check the tide at Assateague Channel
Where NOAA predicts the tide near Assateague Channel
| Prediction station | Distance |
|---|---|
| Chincoteague Island, Oyster Bay | 1 mile |
| Chincoteague Island, Blake Cove | 2 miles |
| Chincoteague Island, Lewis Creek | 2 miles |
| Chincoteague Island, USCG Station | 2 miles |
| Chincoteague Channel (south end) | 4 miles |
| Southern Chincoteague Island | 4 miles |
Open a station to see today near Assateague Channel.
NOAA CO-OPS Tides & Currents station list, read November 6, 2026.
Fish-holding reefs close to Assateague Channel
| Reef | Area | Distance | Clearance (ft, MLW) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Blackfish Bank Artificial Reef | Atlantic Ocean | 8 miles | 30 |
Reef positions near Assateague Channel are approximate chart-grid centres.
Virginia Marine Resources Commission saltwater angler guide reef charts, read November 7, 2026.
Harbors and wharves by Assateague Channel
Waterfront towns by Assateague Channel
- ChincoteagueAccomack County, 2 miles
Virginia Marine Resources Commission saltwater angler guide (c. 2008, names only); USGS GNIS populated places.
Close to Assateague Channel on the Commonwealth map
Virginia saltwater next door to Assateague Channel
- Chincoteague Inletinlet, 5 miles
- Gargathy Inletinlet, 15 miles
- Metompkin Inletinlet, 21 miles
- Pocomoke Soundsound, 25 miles
- Wachapreague Inletinlet, 28 miles
Stores with hooks, line and lures around Assateague Channel
- Captain Steve's Bait and Tacklebait and tackle shop, Chincoteague Island, 1 mile
- Daisey's Docksidemarina, Chincoteague Island, 3 miles
- Blufin Bungalows & Marinamarina, Chincoteague Island, 3 miles
- Marine Sciencemarina, Wallops Island, 8 miles
- Sherryjo's Custom Baits Incbait and tackle shop, Bloxom, 17 miles
- Deep Creek Marine & Boatyardmarina, Onancock, 25 miles
Booking a skipper or guide for Assateague Channel
- Captain Jay's Adventurescharter, Chincoteague Island, (757) 894-4620
- Easternshore Adventure Charterscharter, Greenbackville, (410) 251-1912
- Island Queen Inland Charterscharter, Chincoteague Island, (757) 990-2404
- Marlin Magic Charterscharter, Wachapreague, (757) 787-1908
A bed and a breakfast counter near Assateague Channel
- Chincoteague2 miles, Accomack County
- Onancock27 miles, Accomack County
Locality pages that take in Assateague Channel
- Accomack Countycounty seat Accomac
Piscifun tackle that suits Assateague Channel
Piscifun and Amazon links are affiliate links; the site earns a commission on qualifying purchases.
How the banks by Assateague Channel look on a clear day

Photo: U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Northeast Region, Public domain

Photo: ted, CC BY 2.0
Questions on Assateague Channel before the truck is loaded
Which Virginia locality holds Assateague Channel?
GNIS places it in Accomack County, on the Atlantic side, about 2 miles from Chincoteague.
Which DWR saltwater ramp gets a boat to Assateague Channel?
DWR records 1 saltwater launch, among them Queens Sound boat ramp on Chincoteague Inlet.
What does DWR charge to fish Assateague Channel?
A Virginia saltwater license is $17.50 for residents and $25 for nonresidents 16 and older. Kids under 16 are exempt.
Which red drum rule applies on Assateague Channel?
Red drum: 3 a day, 18-inch minimum, 26-inch maximum (4VAC20-1400-30), as of November 6, 2026.
What size speckled trout may go home from Assateague Channel?
Speckled trout: 5 a day, 14-inch minimum (4VAC20-280-30); the code closes the season April 1 through June 30, 2026, as of November 6, 2026.
What size flounder may go home from Assateague Channel?
Summer flounder: 4 a day, 16-inch minimum (4VAC20-620-50); the minimum rises June 1 per the code section, as of November 6, 2026.
Which NOAA gauge sits closest to Assateague Channel?
Chincoteague Island, Oyster Bay, about 1 mile away, is closest.
Which Virginia bait counter sits closest to Assateague Channel?
Nearest in our list: Captain Steve's Bait and Tackle (about 1 mile away).
Can I reach a reef from Assateague Channel?
Blackfish Bank Artificial Reef is the closest VMRC guide reef, about 8 miles away (chart-grid midpoint, not a structure position).
Spend a falling tide on Assateague Channel
Know the slot and season before the first cast.

