Wachapreague Inlet Fishing
A inlet in Accomack County, on the Atlantic side.
Pick for red drumPiscifun Alloy S inshore spinning reelCheck price at PiscifunPhoto, nearby stand in for Wachapreague Inlet: U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Norfolk District, CC BY 2.0
Wachapreague Inlet, the short version
USGS records Wachapreague Inlet as a inlet on the Atlantic side within Accomack County. Onancock sits some 12 miles from the named point.
6 artificial reefs from the VMRC reef charts lie within 25 miles. NOAA keeps 1 water-level station within 25 miles. Its tidal water follows the VMRC saltwater limits.
USGS GNIS named feature 1476207; Virginia DWR Boating Access Locations; NOAA CO-OPS; read November 6, 2026.
Getting a boat onto Wachapreague Inlet
DWR maps no saltwater ramp close to Wachapreague Inlet.
Virginia DWR Boating Access Locations layer (attributes as recorded; lanes, fees and hours are not in the layer), read November 6, 2026.
Marine creel limits on Wachapreague Inlet
| Species | Area | Size | Bag | Season | VAC section |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Atlantic croaker | Virginia tidal waters | not stated | 50 | not stated | 4VAC20-1370-30 |
| Red drum | Virginia tidal waters | 18 in minimum, 26 in maximum | 3 | not stated | 4VAC20-1400-30 |
| Sheepshead | Within or outside Virginia tidal waters | not stated | 4 | not stated | 4VAC20-1110-30 |
| Spadefish | Virginia tidal waters | not stated | 4 | not stated | 4VAC20-970-30 |
| Speckled trout | Virginia tidal waters | 14 in minimum | 5 | Closed April 1, 2026 through June 30, 2026 | 4VAC20-280-30 |
| Spot | Virginia tidal waters | not stated | 50 | not stated | 4VAC20-1380-30 |
| Striped bass | Coastal area | 28 in minimum, 31 in maximum | 1 | January 1 through March 31 and May 16 through December 31 | 4VAC20-252-110 |
| Striped bass | All Virginia waters | not stated | not stated | not stated | 4VAC20-252-50 |
The Marine Resources Commission rules shown for Wachapreague Inlet date from November 6, 2026.
Virginia Administrative Code, Title 4 Agency 20 (Marine Resources Commission) on law.lis.virginia.gov, as of November 6, 2026 (VMRC rules change by emergency order; check the VMRC regulations page before keeping fish).
A Virginia saltwater license is $17.50 for residents and $25 for nonresidents 16 and older.
Virginia license fees in the 2026 Freshwater Fishing in Virginia digest (licenses run one year from purchase unless noted), read November 6, 2026. Virginia Marine Resources Commission license fees, read November 6, 2026.
For the red drum herePiscifun NautiX saltwater spinning reel14% OFFSale $94.99 Tide prediction points near Wachapreague Inlet
| NOAA water-level station | ID | Distance |
|---|---|---|
| Wachapreague | 8631044 | 5 miles |
Prediction stations for Wachapreague Inlet
| Prediction station | Distance |
|---|---|
| Wachapreague, Wachapreague Channel | 5 miles |
| Metompkin Inlet | 6 miles |
| Revel Creek, Revel Island | 7 miles |
| Folly Creek, Metompkin Inlet | 8 miles |
Readings for Wachapreague Inlet stay on NOAA pages.
NOAA CO-OPS Tides & Currents station list, read November 6, 2026.
Artificial reefs off Wachapreague Inlet
| Reef | Area | Distance | Clearance (ft, MLW) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Wachapreague Artificial Reef | Atlantic Ocean | 3 miles | 15 |
| Parramore Artificial Reef | Atlantic Ocean | 9 miles | 30 |
| Anglers Artificial Reef | Chesapeake Bay | 19 miles | 15 |
| Nandua-Pungoteague Artificial Reef | Chesapeake Bay | 21 miles | 15 |
| Occohannock Artificial Reef | Chesapeake Bay | 22 miles | 15 |
| Nassawadox Artificial Reef | Chesapeake Bay | 23 miles | 15 |
VMRC guide charts supply the reefs listed for Wachapreague Inlet.
Virginia Marine Resources Commission saltwater angler guide reef charts, read November 7, 2026.
Fishing villages around Wachapreague Inlet
Communities near Wachapreague Inlet
- WachapreagueAccomack County, 5 miles
- OnancockAccomack County, 12 miles
- Willis WharfNorthampton County, 12 miles
Virginia Marine Resources Commission saltwater angler guide (c. 2008, names only); USGS GNIS populated places.
Just off Wachapreague Inlet, by road
Coast water within reach of Wachapreague Inlet
- Metompkin Inletinlet, 7 miles
- Quinby Inletinlet, 9 miles
- Hog Island Baybay, 13 miles
- Gargathy Inletinlet, 14 miles
- Pungoteague Creektidal creek, 16 miles
Filling the bait bucket close to Wachapreague Inlet
- Captain Zed's Bait Tacklebait and tackle shop, Wachapreague, 5 miles
- Wachapreague Town Marinamarina, Wachapreague, 5 miles
- Deep Creek Marine & Boatyardmarina, Onancock, 15 miles
- Sherryjo's Custom Baits Incbait and tackle shop, Bloxom, 19 miles
- Blufin Bungalows & Marinamarina, Chincoteague Island
- Captain Steve's Bait and Tacklebait and tackle shop, Chincoteague Island
Virginia captains and guides who work Wachapreague Inlet
- Captain Jay's Adventurescharter, Chincoteague Island, (757) 894-4620
- Easternshore Adventure Charterscharter, Greenbackville, (410) 251-1912
- Island Queen Inland Charterscharter, Chincoteague Island, (757) 990-2404
- Marlin Magic Charterscharter, Wachapreague, (757) 787-1908
Places to stay near Wachapreague Inlet
- Onancock12 miles, Accomack County
- Exmore13 miles, Northampton County
- Chincoteague29 miles, Accomack County
The Virginia counties and cities along Wachapreague Inlet
- Accomack Countycounty seat Accomac
Reels from Piscifun for the next trip to Wachapreague Inlet
Piscifun and Amazon links are affiliate links; the site earns a commission on qualifying purchases.
Lakes, tidewater and stream riffles close to Wachapreague Inlet, in pictures

Photo: Nannette Turner, CC BY 2.0

Photo: Rob Shenk, CC BY-SA 2.0

Photo: Doug Kerr, CC BY-SA 2.0

Photo: Doug Kerr, CC BY-SA 2.0
Wachapreague Inlet, asked and answered for Virginia anglers
How does a Virginia chart or map label Wachapreague Inlet?
It is in Accomack County, on the Atlantic side, about 12 miles from Onancock.
Does DWR list a tidal launch close to Wachapreague Inlet?
There is no nearby DWR site.
Does Wachapreague Inlet call for the Virginia saltwater license?
A Virginia saltwater license is $17.50 for residents and $25 for nonresidents 16 and older. Youth under 16 fish free.
Can I keep a big red drum from Wachapreague Inlet?
Red drum: 3 a day, 18-inch minimum, 26-inch maximum (4VAC20-1400-30), as of November 6, 2026.
Which speckled trout rule covers Wachapreague Inlet?
Speckled trout: 5 a day, 14-inch minimum (4VAC20-280-30); the code closes the season April 1 through June 30, 2026, as of November 6, 2026.
Which flounder rule covers Wachapreague Inlet?
Summer flounder: 4 a day, 16-inch minimum (4VAC20-620-50); the minimum rises June 1 per the code section, as of November 6, 2026.
Which tide table fits Wachapreague Inlet?
The tide table for Wachapreague, Wachapreague Channel, around 5 miles off, fits best.
What tackle store is handiest for Wachapreague Inlet trips?
Captain Zed's Bait Tackle (about 5 miles away) heads the list.
Do VMRC reef sites lie within reach of Wachapreague Inlet?
Wachapreague Artificial Reef is the closest VMRC guide reef, about 3 miles away (chart-grid midpoint, not a structure position).
Catch the tide on Wachapreague Inlet
Licenses and code limits are on the regulations page.

