Virginia species

Spot in Virginia

Virginia spot: limits, record, stocking and waters.

  • 50 a day (salt)bag
Piscifun Viper X spinning reelAngler pickPiscifun Viper X spinning reel50% OFFSale $39.99 $79.99

Photo of the species, not a Virginia water: NOAA's Fisheries Collection; Collection of Brandi Noble, Public domain

Virginia fish

spot from the Blue Ridge to Tidewater

For spot, the rules sit in the Marine Resources Commission chapters of the Administrative Code rather than DWR's freshwater table. In tidal water the Administrative Code sets 50 per person a day (Virginia tidal waters).

For now it shows up on no record row, stocking date or water page.

50 a day (salt)bag
none listedstate record
0water pages
saltwatermanaged as

Virginia Administrative Code 4VAC20-1380-30 on law.lis.virginia.gov, as of November 6, 2026 (VMRC rules change by emergency order; check the VMRC regulations page before keeping fish).

Saltwater

How the Administrative Code treats spot

Area as writtenSizePer personSeasonCode section
Virginia tidal watersnot stated50not stated4VAC20-1380-30

Per day. Charter live bait: 50 per day times customer capacity (4VAC20-1380-40).

Virginia Administrative Code 4VAC20-1380-30 on law.lis.virginia.gov, as of November 6, 2026 (VMRC rules change by emergency order; check the VMRC regulations page before keeping fish).

Code text

Quoted Virginia rule text for spot

4VAC20-1380-30, Recreational harvest limit.

“A. It shall be unlawful for any person fishing recreationally with any gear type to harvest or possess more than 50 spot per day. B. When fishing from a recreational vessel, the possession limit shall be equal to the number of persons on board who are legally eligible to fish multiplied by the personal possession limits as described in subsection A of this section. The operator of the recreational vessel shall be responsible for any recreational vessel possession limit.”

Virginia Administrative Code 4VAC20-1380-30 on law.lis.virginia.gov, as of November 6, 2026 (VMRC rules change by emergency order; check the VMRC regulations page before keeping fish).

Related fish

Fish kin to spot on this site

Piscifun

Piscifun tackle that suits Virginia spot

Piscifun Viper X spinning reel

Piscifun Viper X spinning reel50% OFF

Sale $39.99 $79.99
Piscifun Carbon X ultralight spinning reel

Piscifun Carbon X ultralight spinning reel28% OFF

Sale $57.99 $79.99
Piscifun Chaos XS round baitcaster

Piscifun Chaos XS round baitcaster36% OFF

Sale $57.99 $89.99
Piscifun Lip gripper with digital scale

Piscifun Lip gripper with digital scale27% OFF

Sale $39.99 $54.99

Piscifun and Amazon links are affiliate links; the site earns a commission on qualifying purchases.

Photos

How the banks by Spot look on a clear day

Buggs Island Lake (Kerr Reservoir), Virginia
Buggs Island Lake (Kerr Reservoir)
Photo: ted, CC BY 2.0
Claytor Lake, Virginia
Claytor Lake
Photo: Virginia State Parks, CC BY 2.0
Lake Gaston, Virginia
Lake Gaston
Photo: ted, CC BY 2.0
Philpott Lake, Virginia
Philpott Lake
Photo: Virginia State Parks, CC BY 2.0
Answers

Tidewater-to-mountain questions on Spot

How many spot may I keep per day in Virginia?

Per the VMRC chapter as of November 6, 2026: 50 per person a day (Virginia tidal waters).

What is the Virginia record spot?

DWR's record list carries no row for it.

Which Commonwealth lake or river lists spot?

The Virginia freshwater pages leave it off for now.

Does the digest print local spot rules?

No digest exception names it, though water-wide rules still apply.

How often does DWR stock spot?

No DWR stocking line covers it.

How much is a Virginia license to fish for spot?

A Virginia saltwater license is $17.50 for residents and $25 for nonresidents 16 and older.

Which fish family are Virginia spot in?

Not printed in the data used.

Can I fish for spot on a Virginia Free Fishing Day?

Virginia DWR set Free Fishing Days for June 5–7, 2026: no freshwater fishing license needed, all other rules apply. Creel and length rules still apply.

Find spot near your Virginia base

Every linked water shows DWR access sites.