Bluefish in Virginia
Where bluefish swim in Virginia, and what may be kept.
- 5 a day (salt)bag
Pick for bluefishPiscifun Alloy S inshore spinning reelCheck price at PiscifunPhoto of the species, not a Virginia water: SEFSC Pascagoula Laboratory; Collection of Brandi Noble, NOAA/NMFS/SEFSC., Public domain
bluefish in the Old Dominion
Saltwater regulation, not DWR's freshwater digest, covers bluefish in Virginia. Below the license line the marine chapter gives 5 per person a day (Virginia tidal waters).
It has no record, stocking date or water page here so far.
Virginia Administrative Code 4VAC20-450-20 on law.lis.virginia.gov, as of November 6, 2026 (VMRC rules change by emergency order; check the VMRC regulations page before keeping fish).
For the bluefish herePiscifun NautiX saltwater spinning reel14% OFFSale $94.99 Virginia tidal-water rules for bluefish
| Area as written | Size | Per person | Season | Code section |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Virginia tidal waters | not stated | 5 | not stated | 4VAC20-450-20 |
No size limit stated in this section.
Virginia Administrative Code 4VAC20-450-20 on law.lis.virginia.gov, as of November 6, 2026 (VMRC rules change by emergency order; check the VMRC regulations page before keeping fish).
The Virginia code section on bluefish, quoted
4VAC20-450-20, Recreational bluefish possession limits.
“It shall be unlawful for any person fishing recreationally to harvest or possess more than five bluefish. Any bluefish taken after the possession limit has been reached shall be returned to the water immediately. When fishing from a boat or vessel where the entire catch is held in a common hold or container, the possession limit shall be for the boat or vessel and shall be equal to the number of persons on board who are legally eligible to fish multiplied by the personal possession limits as described in this section. The captain or operator of the boat or vessel shall be responsible for any boat or vessel possession limit.”
Virginia Administrative Code 4VAC20-450-20 on law.lis.virginia.gov, as of November 6, 2026 (VMRC rules change by emergency order; check the VMRC regulations page before keeping fish).
Fish grouped with bluefish here
- Atlantic Croaker50 a day (salt)
- Atlantic Spadefish4 a day (salt)
- Black Drum1 a day (salt)
- Black Sea Bass15 a day (salt)
- Blueline Tilefish3 a day (salt)
- Cobia1 a day (salt)
- Golden Tilefish8 a day (salt)
- Greater Amberjack2 a day (salt)
Piscifun kit lined up for a day on Virginia bluefish
Piscifun and Amazon links are affiliate links; the site earns a commission on qualifying purchases.
Old Dominion water near Bluefish, on camera

Photo: Virginia State Parks, CC BY 2.0

Photo: Virginia State Parks, CC BY 2.0

Photo: Ken Lund, CC BY-SA 2.0

Photo: Virginia State Parks, CC BY 2.0
Bluefish across Virginia: reader questions answered
How many bluefish can go home from a Virginia water?
It is a saltwater fish: 5 per person a day (Virginia tidal waters), per the Administrative Code as of November 6, 2026.
When was the Virginia bluefish record set?
The DWR list shows nothing for it.
Where do bluefish turn up in Virginia?
This site ties it to no Virginia freshwater page so far.
Is the bluefish rule the same on every Virginia water?
No exception changes its rule by name; rules for all fish still count.
Does Virginia DWR stock bluefish?
No stocking date names it.
Is one Virginia license enough for bluefish?
A Virginia saltwater license is $17.50 for residents and $25 for nonresidents 16 and older.
What is the Latin name DWR gives bluefish?
The sources read for this site print no scientific name for it.
When can I fish for bluefish in Virginia without a license?
Virginia DWR set Free Fishing Days for June 5–7, 2026: no freshwater fishing license needed, all other rules apply. The daily creel still counts.
Plan a Virginia day after bluefish
The waters linked above list piers and ramps.

