Sheepshead in Virginia
Creel, record and water pages for Virginia sheepshead.
- 4 a day (salt)bag
Pick for sheepsheadPiscifun Alloy S inshore spinning reelCheck price at PiscifunPhoto of the species, not a Virginia water: Louisiana Sea Grant College Program Louisiana State University, CC BY 2.0
sheepshead across the Commonwealth
Sheepshead are a Marine Resources Commission fish in Virginia, so the freshwater creel table leaves them out. On the salt side the code reads 4 per person a day (Within or outside Virginia tidal waters).
At the moment no Virginia water page, record or stocking line carries it.
Virginia Administrative Code 4VAC20-1110-30 on law.lis.virginia.gov, as of November 6, 2026 (VMRC rules change by emergency order; check the VMRC regulations page before keeping fish).
For the sheepshead herePiscifun NautiX saltwater spinning reel14% OFFSale $94.99 Virginia marine rows for sheepshead
| Area as written | Size | Per person | Season | Code section |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Within or outside Virginia tidal waters | not stated | 4 | not stated | 4VAC20-1110-30 |
No size limit stated in this section.
Virginia Administrative Code 4VAC20-1110-30 on law.lis.virginia.gov, as of November 6, 2026 (VMRC rules change by emergency order; check the VMRC regulations page before keeping fish).
sheepshead: the code section as written
4VAC20-1110-30, Recreational harvest and possession limit.
“The recreational harvest, landing and possession limit for sheepshead, as described in 4VAC20-1110-20 , shall be four fish. It shall be unlawful for any person to recreationally harvest, land or possess more than four sheepshead within or without Virginia tidal waters. When fishing from any boat or vessel where the entire catch is held in a common hold or container, the possession limit for sheepshead shall be for the boat or vessel and shall be equal to the number of persons on board legally eligible to fish multiplied by four. The captain or operator of the boat or vessel shall be responsible for any boat or vessel possession limits.”
Virginia Administrative Code 4VAC20-1110-30 on law.lis.virginia.gov, as of November 6, 2026 (VMRC rules change by emergency order; check the VMRC regulations page before keeping fish).
More fish beside sheepshead on the family tree
- Atlantic Croaker50 a day (salt)
- Atlantic Spadefish4 a day (salt)
- Black Drum1 a day (salt)
- Black Sea Bass15 a day (salt)
- Bluefish5 a day (salt)
- Blueline Tilefish3 a day (salt)
- Cobia1 a day (salt)
- Golden Tilefish8 a day (salt)
A Piscifun spread to take to Virginia sheepshead
Piscifun and Amazon links are affiliate links; the site earns a commission on qualifying purchases.
Pictures of the water by Sheepshead

Photo: Virginia State Parks, CC BY 2.0

Photo: Blake Patterson, CC BY 2.0

Photo: schizoform, CC BY 2.0

Photo: Virginia State Parks, CC BY 2.0
Commonwealth angler queries on Sheepshead
Is there a daily cap on Virginia sheepshead?
Saltwater limit as of November 6, 2026: 4 per person a day (Within or outside Virginia tidal waters).
Where was the Virginia sheepshead record caught?
It has no state record on the DWR freshwater list.
Which Virginia lakes list sheepshead?
None of the Virginia lake or river pages carry it at present.
Do any Virginia waters set their own sheepshead rule?
The exceptions list leaves it alone.
Is sheepshead on the DWR stocking schedule?
It is not on the DWR stocking schedule.
Which license lets me keep sheepshead in Virginia?
A Virginia saltwater license is $17.50 for residents and $25 for nonresidents 16 and older.
What family holds sheepshead on the DWR profile?
None printed in the data read.
Do Virginia sheepshead anglers skip the license on a free day?
Virginia DWR set Free Fishing Days for June 5–7, 2026: no freshwater fishing license needed, all other rules apply. Every other rule still applies.
Line up a trip for Virginia sheepshead
Start from a water above for its DWR launches.

