Scup in Virginia
Virginia limits, the state record and the waters for scup.
- see the rulesbag
Pick for troutPiscifun Carbon X ultralight spinning reel28% OFFSale $57.99 Photo of the species, not a Virginia water: Smithsonian Environmental Research Center, CC BY 2.0
Virginia scup in short
The limits for scup come from the marine side of Virginia law, Title 4 Agency 20, not from the freshwater digest. Marine rules as of November 6, 2026: 9-inch minimum (Virginia tidal waters).
Neither the record list nor the stocking schedule names it at present.
Virginia Administrative Code 4VAC20-910-30 on law.lis.virginia.gov, as of November 6, 2026 (VMRC rules change by emergency order; check the VMRC regulations page before keeping fish).
scup below Virginia's license lines
| Area as written | Size | Per person | Season | Code section |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Virginia tidal waters | 9 in minimum | not stated | not stated | 4VAC20-910-30 |
No recreational possession limit in the sections read.
Virginia Administrative Code 4VAC20-910-30 on law.lis.virginia.gov, as of November 6, 2026 (VMRC rules change by emergency order; check the VMRC regulations page before keeping fish).
The VMRC language behind the scup limits
4VAC20-910-30, Minimum size limits.
“A. The minimum size limit of scup harvested by commercial fishing gear shall be nine inches in total length. B. The minimum size limit of scup harvested by recreational fishing gear including hook and line, rod and reel, spear, and gig shall be nine inches in total length. C. It shall be unlawful for any person to catch and retain possession of any scup of smaller than the designated minimum size limit, as described, respectively, in subsections A and B of this section. D. It shall be unlawful for any person to sell, trade, barter, or offer to sell, trade, or barter any scup less than nine inches in total length.”
Virginia Administrative Code 4VAC20-910-30 on law.lis.virginia.gov, as of November 6, 2026 (VMRC rules change by emergency order; check the VMRC regulations page before keeping fish).
Close cousins of Virginia scup
- Atlantic Croaker50 a day (salt)
- Atlantic Spadefish4 a day (salt)
- Black Drum1 a day (salt)
- Black Sea Bass15 a day (salt)
- Bluefish5 a day (salt)
- Blueline Tilefish3 a day (salt)
- Cobia1 a day (salt)
- Golden Tilefish8 a day (salt)
Reels from Piscifun for the next trip to Virginia scup
Piscifun and Amazon links are affiliate links; the site earns a commission on qualifying purchases.
Lakes, tidewater and stream riffles close to Scup, in pictures

Photo: Virginia State Parks, CC BY 2.0

Photo: Doug Kerr, CC BY-SA 2.0

Photo: Blake Patterson, CC BY 2.0

Photo: schizoform, CC BY 2.0
Virginia Scup, the questions anglers bring
What does the Virginia digest allow for scup?
As of November 6, 2026 the code reads 9-inch minimum (Virginia tidal waters).
How heavy is the Virginia scup record?
There is no Virginia freshwater record listed for it.
Which Virginia waters hold scup?
DWR waterbody lists name no water with a page here for it yet.
Which Virginia waters change the scup rule?
None of the exceptions mention it by name; posted rules still apply.
Do Virginia hatcheries release scup?
The DWR trout stocking schedule has no entry for it.
Must a visitor buy a license for Virginia scup?
A Virginia saltwater license is $17.50 for residents and $25 for nonresidents 16 and older.
How does DWR list scup scientifically?
No Latin name came with the DWR data used.
Are scup included on Virginia free fishing dates?
Virginia DWR set Free Fishing Days for June 5–7, 2026: no freshwater fishing license needed, all other rules apply. Limits still hold on those days.
For the trout herePiscifun Carbon XT ultralight spinning reel25% OFFSale $59.99 Head out for Virginia scup
Pick one of those Virginia waters for its ramps.

